Skip to main content

School Counseling: Articles/Databases

A Domain of Counselor Education

Finding Article Full-Text

When looking for scholarly articles only, remember to check the box labeled either PEER-REVIEWED or REFEREED on the database search page.

Locate the Full-Text of an Article in a Database:

1. Check for PDF icon on article record in database search results. If not available,

2. Click on "Search for Full-Text" to check for ARTICLE link or request InterLibrary Loan.

Locate the Full-Text of Article from a Citation:

Click on the JOURNALS button on the library homepage to search for the name a specific journal. The results will indicate all TCNJ subscriptions, both print and electronic.

Finding More Databases

Search for scholarly articles by using research databases.
On the library home page, a database may be selected by two methods:

Find Articles by Searching Databases

ERIC (EBSCO)

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.        Search Strategy: Use ERIC Descriptors for best results.   ERIC Descriptors include:  Guidance, Counseling, School Counseling, Educational Counseling, Career Counseling, Marriage Counseling, Interpersonal Competence, Counseling Techniques, Counseling Effectiveness, Play Therapy, Emotional Problems, and Coping.

 

PsycInfo (EBSCO)

The most comprehensive international database of psychology. Provides citations and abstracts from the academic, research and practice literature in psychology, and includes materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work and criminology. Indexes journals, books and book chapters, dissertations and technical reports.

OmniFile Mega (Wilson/EBSCO)

Provides indexing, abstracting, and selected full text to the Wilson databases for Business, Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, and the Social Sciences.

Academic Search Premier  (EBSCO)

Content includes more than 8,500 abstracted and indexed journals covering most academic areas of study including STM research as well as the Social Sciences and Humanities.

Medical Databases 

Search Tips

  • SUBJECT searching techniques will provide focused search results.
  • Research Databases assign Subject Headings to each article.
  • Use the ERIC Thesaurus to look up official ERIC search terms, known as DESCRIPTORS.
  • ERIC indexes the articles in many education journals. For instance, although ERIC does not supply the full-text for YOUNG CHILDREN, it does index it. This means you may search the content and then locate the article in print in the TCNJ Library.

Keword vs. Subject Heading Searches

While you may search databases using keywords of your choosing, you will receive more precise search results if you use SUBJECT terms. That's because searching by keywords requires matching the exact words found in a record, while searching by official Subject Headings allows you to locate records indexed by subject, regardless of the terminology the author may have used. The ERIC Thesaurus and Subject Heading lists in other databases will allow you to conduct systemic searches and save time by reducing guesswork and trial-and-error methods.